Send this page to a friend!
Fill in the form bellow

your name:
your email:
friend name:
friend email:
your comments:


autoviva2016-03-21 12:19:54

Nico Rosberg is once again king in Melbourne

The German took his fourth consecutive win in Melbourne

Nico Rosberg took his 15th career win in Melbourne

Nico Rosberg is becoming what you can call the king of Melbourne as he took his fourth consecutive victory in the Australian Grand Prix. The race got stained with a very violent crashwhich involved Fernando Alonso and Esteban Gutierrez.

Adding to the last three races of last season, this is the fourth consecutive F1 victory from the Mercedes German driver. He finished eight seconds ahead of his team-mate Lewis Hamilton, while FerrariFerrariFerrariItaly, 1947 > present233 models
5150 photos
37 videos
's Sebastian Vettel had to settle for third place.
The race got under way with an amazing start from Sebastian Vettel that immediatly took the command of the race, overtaking both MercedesMercedes-BenzMercedes-BenzGermany, 1924 > present197 models
9899 photos
33 videos
. Hamilton fell to sixth place behind the Ferraris, Rosberg and Max Verstappen and Felipe Massa. Four laps later he overtook the WilliamsWilliamsWilliamsUnited Kingdom, 1977 > present37 models
257 photos
driver, but didn't manage to get close enough to Verstappen's Toro RossoToro RossoToro RossoItaly, 2006 > present10 models
110 photos
1 video
, which let the leading trio pull away.
On the first stop tyre strategy came to franctic action with Vettel and Raikkonen going for super-softs, Rosberg for softs and Hamilton with mediums, trying to go to end of the race with just one stop.
However the race got a complete makeover after a scary crash which involved Alonso and Gutierrez on lap 17, which forced a red flag. Alonso hit the rear of Esteban Gutierrez's Haas and ended up slamming into the wall and then rolling violently through the gravel trap. Fortunately both drivers came out of the cars by their own foot, but the race was stopped for 20 minutes.
After the race restarted Raikkonen retired with a power-unit failure and Vettel didn't manage to keep the pace with his super-soft tyres and had to pit on lap 35 and handed the lead to Rosberg. Hamilton benefitted from the German and the Toro Rossos stops to move up to third and managed to overtake Ricciardo to take second place with 16 laps to go. With a 10 seconds lead, Rosberg was capable to holf on to the lead and take his 15th F1 victory.
Vettel still managed to finish third and on the last laps still had a chance to challenge to second place after a small mistake from Hamilton got him very close to the reinging world champion. However the Brit managed to keep the runner-up spot with the Ferrari driver locking up and driving onto the grass with two laps to go.
Home favourite Daniel Ricciardo finished fourth in his Red BullRed BullRed BullAustria, 2004 > present12 models
1049 photos
3 videos
, followed by Massa. Romain Grosjean scored the first points for Haas, with the team becoming the first to do so on the debut since Mika Salo for ToyotaToyotaToyotaJapan, 1937 > present155 models
4672 photos
10 videos
back in 2002. The French benefited from the red flag, making his only tyre change on that occasion, which meant he didn't pit during the race.
Force IndiaForce IndiaForce IndiaIndia, 2007 > present8 models
119 photos
's Nico Hulkenberg finished seventh and William's Valtteri Bottas in eighth. Both drivers were unable to overtake Grosjean, although the were behind his Haas for half the race.
The two Toro RossosToro RossoToro RossoItaly, 2006 > present10 models
110 photos
1 video
finished on the last scorable places.
Results Australian Grand Prix
Pos Driver Car Gap
1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1h48m15.565s
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 8.060s
3 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 9.643s
4 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/TAG Heuer 24.330s
5 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 58.979s
6 Romain Grosjean Haas/Ferrari 1m12.081s
7 Nico Hulkenberg Force India/Mercedes 1m14.199s
8 Valtteri Bottas Williams/Mercedes 1m15.153s
9 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Ferrari 1m15.680s
10 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso/Ferrari 1m16.833s
11 Jolyon Palmer Renault 1m23.399s
12 Kevin Magnussen Renault 1m25.606s
13 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 1m31.699s
14 Jenson Button McLaren/Honda 1 Lap
15 Felipe Nasr Sauber/Ferrari 1 Lap
16 Pascal Wehrlein Manor/Mercedes 1 Lap
- Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari Tyre
- Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari Fire
- Rio Haryanto Manor/Mercedes Transmission
- Esteban Gutierrez Haas/Ferrari Collision
- Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda Collision
- Daniil Kvyat Red Bull/TAG Heuer Not started







publish your news and scoops
Formula 1Top 10ReviewsCar CultureGeneva Motor ShowElectric CarsHybrid CarsIndustry

related event