Send this page to a friend!
Fill in the form bellow

your name:
your email:
friend name:
friend email:
your comments:


Christopher Bruce2012-09-05 20:41:33

Next Generation Honda Accord Will Have Plug-In Hybrid Model

The new Accord sedan goes on sale in September in the US

HondaHondaHondaJapan, 1948 > present102 models
2419 photos
10 videos
has released more info about the new AccordAccord 9Honda Accord 9Japan, 2013 > present25 versions
49 photos
that will begin its ninth generation next year. The biggest part of the news is that there will be a plug-in hybrid model of the new car called the Accord PHEV. 

When it goes on sale on September 12, the new Accord will be offered as a coupe and sedan with a new 2.4-liter direct-injected four-cylinder engine. A V6 will come a few months later.  Buyers interested in the hybrid will have to wait until next summer. The cars will use a six-speed automatic or six-speed manual transmission. The hybrid will use a new CVT. Honda believes the new four-cylinder engine and six-speed automatic will give the Accord 36mpg highway fuel economy and 34mpg highway for the V6.

The plug-in hybrid model will be able to drive up to 15 miles on pure electric power and have a 500-mile total range. It uses a 2.0-liter four-cylinder engine with 137hp and a 166hp electric motor. Power comes from a 6.7kWh battery pack. Honda is expecting for the car to be rated at 100mpg-e. When it starts the car defaults to electric mode and stays there until the battery is used. Then it switches to the internal combustion engine. 

The Accord PHEV will be based on the highest Touring trim meaning that it will get features like full LED headlights with LED running lights and adaptive cruise control. To lower weight PHEV models will also get an aluminum front subframe, aluminum hood, aluminum rear bumper bean and no spare tire. 

The new Accord is nearly identical in size to the but has a new suspension that decreases interior noise. 

The new Accord comes standard with Bluetooth, USB radio and rearview camera. Lane Departure Warning and Forward Collision Warning come standard on the EX-L trim. 

The new car will be available in a variety of trim levels: LX, Sport, EX, EX-L, EX-L V6, and Touring.

All Accords except for the PHEV will be built in Ohio, but PHEV models will only be built in Japan. 

Accord 9Accord 9




publish your news and scoops