Send this page to a friend!
Fill in the form bellow

your name:
your email:
friend name:
friend email:
your comments:


Christopher Bruce2013-05-26 15:46:45

Rosberg Scores First Win of Season in Monaco

Mercedes finally converts a pole position to a win

Rosberg scores his first win of the year after a string of pole positions for Mercedes

Nico Rosberg won from pole in a very long and relatively unexciting Grand Prix of Monaco. It is his first win of the season after four Mercedes pole positions. There were multiple safety car periods and a red flag over the course of race due to several crashes. Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber finished second and third respectively.

Note, after qualifying but prior to the race Max Chilton changed gearboxes to get a five grid-spot penalty. He qualified in 20th, which will put him at the bottom of the grid, and promoted Jules Bianchi and Felipe Massa up one grid spot each. Bianchi had trouble during the warm-up lap and started from the pit lane.

At the start of the race, Nico Rosberg held his lead. Lewis Hamilton played the role of blocker and kept Sebastian Vettel at bay. The start of the race was clean up until the chicane. Pastor Maldonado and Giedo van der Garde both suffered front wing damage.

Charles Pic's car caught on fire on lap 9 at the entrance to the pits. He was unharmed. 

By lap 26, there were no passes among the top six drivers. The highest pass in the grid was Jenson Button passing Sergio Perez and Adrian Sutil to get to seventh. 

Felipe Massa crashed out of the race on Lap 30 in a big incident. He had crossed the start/finish line and locked up his tires to crash into the barriers at the first corner. The medics put a neck brace on him, but he was otherwise unharmed.

Behind the safety car and after the pit stops, the running order was Rosberg, Sebastian Vettel, Mark Webber, Hamilton, Kimi Raikkonen, Fernando Alonso and Button. 

There was a red flag on lap 46 when Max Chilton attempted to pass Pastor Maldonado, but it did not work. Chilton's wing got under Maldonado's front tire and destroyed his wing, and Maldonado crashed into the barrier. It put so much carbon fiber onto the track that the race was stopped. Maldonado was out of the race, but Chilton was able to repair the car.

Between the safety car and red flag, the only change in the running order of the top drivers was Sergio Perez passing Button for seventh place.

Jules Bianchi crashed out of the race on lap 61 in the same place and in a similar manner to Felipe Massa. No safety car this time, though.

On lap 63, Romain Grosjean slammed into the back of Daniel Ricciardo and destroyed his rear wing and Grosjean's front wing. Both men were out of the race.

The top four spots of the World Drivers' Championship remain in the same order, but Mark Webber jumps to fifth due to Massa's retirement.

The World Constructors' Championship standings remain the same.

Monaco Grand Prix Results
Position Driver Team
1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault
3 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault
4 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
5 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes
6 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes
7 Fernando Alonso Ferrari
8 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Ferrari
9 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes
10 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus-Renault
11 Nico Hulkenberg Sauber-Ferrari
12 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Renault
13 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari
14 Max Chilton Marussia-Cosworth
15 Giedo van der Garde Caterham-Renault
16 Sergio Perez Williams-Renault
17 Retire Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault
18 Retire Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso-Ferrari
19 Retire Jules Bianchi Marussia-Cosworth
20 Retire Pastor Maldonado Williams-Renault
21 Retire Felipe Massa Ferrari
22 Retire Charles Pic Caterham-Renault
World Drivers' Championship Points
Position Driver Team Points
1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 107
2 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus-Renault 86
3 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 78
4 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 62
5 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 57
6 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 47
7 Felipe Massa Ferrari 45
8 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 28
9 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 26
10 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 25
11 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 16
12 Sergio Perez McLaren-Mercedes 12
13 Daniel Ricciardo Force India Mercedes 7
14 Nico Hulkenberg Sauber-Ferrari 5
15 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Ferrari 5
World Constructors' Championship Point Standings
Position Team Points
1 Red Bull-Renault 164
2 Ferrari 123
3 Lotus-Renault 112
4 Mercedes 109
5 Force India-Mercedes 44
6 McLaren-Mercedes 37
7 Toro Rosso-Ferrari 12
8 Sauber-Ferrari 5






publish your news and scoops
Formula 1Top 10ReviewsCar CultureGeneva Motor ShowElectric CarsHybrid CarsIndustry

related event

Monaco Grand Prix
Monaco Grand Prix in Circuit de Monaco