Send this page to a friend!
Fill in the form bellow

your name:
your email:
friend name:
friend email:
your comments:


Christopher Bruce2013-02-07 19:41:21

Le Mans Selects Legends to Display During 2013 Race

Eleven cars represent the history of the race

The list was received 20,000 votes on the Internet

A jury comprised of former racers in the 24 Hours of Le Mans, officials from the FIA and Internet voters have voted on eleven cars, one from each decade and one tie, to represent the history of the 24 Hours of Le Mans. The eleven cars will be on display in the Village of the 24 Hours during the race and will be on display during the pit walk. 

The 20,000 Internet voters selected the finalists from each era, and the jurors selected the winners. The jurors that selected the cars included former winners Emanuele Pirro and Yannick Dalmas, 30-time Le Mans racer Yojiro Terada, FIA President Jean Todt, ACO President Pierre Fillon, actor Patrick Demsey and seven other members. Their goal was to select one car from each decade of the race that represented the best of the era. 

The reason for the tie in the 90s was because Mazda is still the only Japanese automaker with an outright win at Le Mans, and the 905 won twice consecutively in 1992 and 1993. 

They selected:

2010s: Audi R18 E-tron QuattroR18 e-tron quattroAudi R18 e-tron quattroGermany, 2012 > present8 photos
2 videos

2000s: Audi R10 TDIR10 TDIAudi R10 TDIGermany, 2006 > present4 photos

90s: Mazda 787B787BMazda 787BJapan, 1991 > present2 photos
1 video
and Peugeot 905905 Evo 1 BisPeugeot 905 Evo 1 BisFrance, 1992 > present1 photo

80s: Porche 956956Porsche 956Germany, 1982 > 198522 photos
1 video

70s: Porsche 917917KPorsche 917KGermany, 1971 > 19713 photos

60s: Ford GT40GT40Ford GT40United Kingdom, 1966 > present3 photos
1 video

50s: Jaguar D-TypeD-TypeJaguar D-TypeUnited Kingdom, 1954 > 195715 photos

40s: Ferrari 166MM166 MMFerrari 166 MMItaly, 1948 > present1 photo

30s: Alfa Romeo 8C8C 2900 B Le Mans BerlinettaAlfa Romeo 8C 2900 B Le M...Italy, 1938 > present2 photos

20s: Bentley Speed SixSpeed 6Bentley Speed 6United Kingdom, 1928 > present19 photos

Bentley Speed 6

The Bentley Speed 6 is the most successful Bentley racer of all time, claiming two victories at the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1929 and 1930. This car marked the era of the famous Bentley Boys - Woolf Barnato, Tim Birkin and Glen Kidston.

Alfa Romeo 8C 2300 Le Mans

The 8C 2300 Le Mans race car entered for the first time in the 1931 race driven by Tim Birkin and immediately took the victory. The car then went on to win the 24 Hours of Le Mans title in the following years until 1934, claiming a total of four trophies.

Jaguar D-Type

After a difficult start in 1954, the D-Type claimed victory at Le Mans in three consecutive seasons from 1955 until 1957. While the victory in 1955 was controversial due to a tragic accident, the racer celebrated its most successful season in 1957 by taking five out of the six top positions.

Ferrari 250 Testa Rossa

In the early 1960s Ferrari dominated the 24 Hours of Le Mans with their Testa Rossas. The 250 TR's won the race on 1958, 1960 and 1961. Their legendary racing success makes these models also some of the most desired collectors' cars in the world.

Ford GT40

The Ford GT40 is the result of a deep rivalry between Enzo Ferrari and Henry Ford. Ford was determinded to break Ferrari's dominance in motorsport and developed a car that would finally succeed in 1966. Until 1969, the Ford GT40 remained undefeated at Le Mans and is hence one of the most successful endurance challengers of all times.

Porsche 917

The Porsche 917 was an highly successful prototype that first competed in 1969. While not performing well during the first season, modifications of the car won in the subsequent years 1970 and 1971. The Porsche 917 marks the beginning of Porsche's dominance at Le Mans that should last until the 1980s.

Porsche 956

Porsche is the overall most successful manufacturer in Le Mans history. Out of the sixteen Porsche victories, four were claimed by the 956 between 1982 and 1985, which makes it one of the most successful Le Mans challengers to date. After the fatal accident of Stefan Bellof in 1985, the security concens lead Porsche to replace the car by the 962 model.

Mazda 787B

With just one Le Mans win, the Mazda 787B is nonetheless an icon of endurance racing. It is so far the only Japanese car to triumph at the French circuit and also the first car to win with a wankel rotary engine design.

Audi R8

While Porsche still holds the Le Mans record with 16 trophies, Audi work hard to catch up with their compatriot competitor. The R8 did its share by claiming the title in five years: 2000, 2001, 2002, 2004 and 2005. With this history, the R8 is the most successful car to compete at Le Mans to the present day.

Audi R10 TDI

The Audi R10 TDI can be already regarded as a modern classic of the recent Le Mans history. It was not only the first diesel-engined car to ever win at the endurance race, it also remained undefeated in 3 consecutive years: 2006, 2007, 2008. In 2009 it was replaced by the R15 TDI.




publish your news and scoops
Le MansTop 10ReviewsCar CultureGeneva Motor ShowElectric CarsHybrid CarsIndustry